Start Strong Teens Talk Dating: A Virtual Conference

Start Strong Teens Talk Dating: A Virtual Conference

On Tuesday, July 31st, Start Strong teens from eleven sites across the country came together to promote healthy relationships during an innovative online event, “Start Strong Teens Talk Dating: A Virtual Conference.”

Using live video feeds, in-person workshops, message boards, Twitter and Tumblr, this interactive one-day event empowered students to explore what it means to be in a healthy relationship and decide for themselves what is, and what is not, acceptable.

Teens participating in the Conference were led through interactive workshops on topics such as dealing with rumors in relationships, cheating, and how to stand up to abusive or unhealthy behavior. The Conference also trained teens to be UPSTANDERS, or individuals who stand up to unhealthy or abusive dating behaviors, in their own relationships and in their communities.

Advocates and others from across the country joined the conversation in real time by following the hashtag #TeensTalkDating on Twitter.

For more information and for regular updates, check out Start Strong: Building Healthy Teen Relationships, and follow Start Strong on Twitter @StartStrong.

What: Start Strong Teens Talk Dating: A Virtual Conference

When: Tuesday, July 31, 2012

8:00 am – 2:30 pm PT

9:00 am – 3:30 pm MT

10:00 am – 4:30 pm CT

11:00 am – 5:30 pm ET

Where: Start Strong sites nationwide (located in Boston, New York City, Bridgeport, Rhode Island, Atlanta, Los Angeles, Oakland, Idaho, Indianapolis, Wichita and Austin)

Twitter Details: Use hashtag #TeensTalkDating to join the conversation and follow @StartStrong for real time updates

[Browse more features]