NJ & NY Co-Location Webinar March 26th 2014

Title: The New Jersey and New York State Initiatives on DV Advocates Co-Located in Local Child Protective Offices
Date & Time: March 26th, 2014 at 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM EDT (8:00 AM - 9:30 AM HST/ 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM AKDT/ 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM PST/ 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM MDT/ 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM CDT)

Description: While it is well documented that child welfare services and domestic violence (DV) providers often serve the same families, many communities lack coordination between these two systems. To improve safety for families experiencing both DV and child maltreatment and to improve case coordination, many states are now piloting collaborative initiatives with the co-location of DV advocates into child protection. In New York state, 21 counties have been funded to co-locate domestic violence advocates in child protective services. In New Jersey, 31 domestic violence liaisons are co-located in 46 local child protection service offices. How did these states begin their collaboration and what have they learned in the process? Speakers from New York and New Jersey programs will answer these questions and others, including: the impetus for change; how partnerships and collaboration were fostered; development of policies; evaluation results and anecdotal stories of success. Included are the perspectives of state administrators and evaluators, a CPS worker and DV advocate.

This webinar is presented by the Family Violence Prevention & Services Program, Family & Youth Services Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and Futures Without Violence.

Learning Objectives:

  • Understand how the co-location of a domestic violence advocate in child protective services benefits both case practice and client outcomes.
  • Learn factors and agreements that influence co-location implementation.
  • Identify 3 challenges associated with co-location programs and 3 strategies to overcome them.

Speakers:

  • Facilitated by Anna Marjavi, Program Manager, Futures Without Violence
  • Dacey Bonney, Assistant Service Director of Non-Residential Domestic Violence Services, Unity House
  • Lisa Gordon, Director of Program and Community Development, New York State Office of Children and Family Services
  • Grace Hamilton, MSW Administrator for the Office of Domestic Violence Services, NJ Department of Children and Families
  • Trashaun Powell, Program Specialist, Office of Domestic Violence Services, NJ Dept of Children and Families
  • Joanne Ruppel, Assistant Director of Research, Evaluation, and Performance Analytics, New York State Office of Children and Family Services
  • Andrea Sandholt, Child Protective Services, Renssealer County DSS

This webinar has taken place. Details regarding the slides and webinar recording are below.

NJ Slides: To view, click here.

NY Slides: To view, click here.

Information Slide: To view, click here.

Webinar Recording: To view, click here.

Survey: Click here ot take the survery.

 
Privacy and Confidentiality:
Futures Without Violence respects the privacy of all webinar participants. All personal information will remain confidential. We do not rent, sell or trade our mailing lists. Name, email and other information provided by a participant will be used appropriately to provide information on related activities including upcoming webinars and other events.

Questions? Please contact Alisha Benjamin.