March 6, 2013

Title: Shifting the Paradigm: Building Program Capacity to Effectively Serve Mothers and their Children Together in Domestic Violence Programs
Date & Time: March 6, 2013, 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM EST (9:00 AM HST/ 10:00 AM AKST/ 11:00 AM PST/ 12:00 PM MST/ 1:00 PM CST)

Description: Just as it is healthy for children to have a solid foundation from which to grow, it is critical that programs and services for children and youth within domestic violence agencies have a solid footing within their organizations. This webinar will discuss how programs can begin to assess and build capacity to effectively provide holistic services for women and their children in a deliberate and coordinated way. Presenters will outline strategies to examine or reexamine program philosophies, core values, policies and practice through the lens of child advocacy, family support, and trauma in order to create strong and healthy programs with consistent staffing and effective outcomes. The importance of engaging program leadership will also be discussed. This webinar is part of the Promising Futures: Best Practices for Serving Children, Youth, and Parents Experiencing Domestic Violence project. More information can be found at www.promisingfutureswithoutviolence.org.

This webinar is presented by the Family Violence Prevention & Services Program, Family & Youth Services Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and Futures Without Violence.

Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the benefits and challenges of providing coordinated comprehensive services for children/youth and their mothers within domestic violence programs.
  • Be able to implement strategies to examine or reexamine program philosophies, core values, policies and practice through the lens of providing holistic services for mothers and their children.
  • Understand the role of advocates and program leadership in building program capacity to provide these services.

Speakers:

  • Amy Torchia, Children's Advocacy Coordinator at Vermont Network Agasinst Domestic and Sexual Violence
  • Leiana Kinnicutt, Program Manager of Children & Youth Programs, Futures Without Violence

Slides: Click Here

Recording: Click Here

Survey: Click Here

System Requirements:
• Broadband Internet access – DSL, satellite, cable or other broadband server
• Color monitor
• Computer speakers/headphones or telephone to listen to audio. You may also listen to audio using your computer speakers or by using a phone to call the conference line.
• The latest Adobe® Flash® Player plugin for your browser. If you don't have the Flash plugin, you can get it here.
• Conduct a systems test: http://bwjp.ilinc.com/perl/ilinc/lms/systest.pl

Privacy and Confidentiality:
Futures Without Violence respects the privacy of all webinar participants. All personal information will remain confidential. We do not rent, sell or trade our mailing lists. Name, email and other information provided by a participant will be used appropriately to provide information on related activities including upcoming webinars and other events.

Questions? Please contact Alisha Benjamin.