May 23, 2013 Tribal Laws Webinar

Title: Tribal Laws: Protecting the Sacredness of Our Children
Date & Time: March 23, 2013, 9:00AM AKDT/ 10:00AM PDT/ 11:00AM MDT/ 12:00PM CDT/ 1:00PM EDT

Description: This webinar will assist OJJDP grantees in answering the following questions; how can Tribal codes and laws be formulated to protect children? what is the process for passing such codes and laws to address prevention, intervention and healing of children who have been exposed to violence or have experienced violence or have expereinced violence and trauma? Please join us as OJJDP & Futures Without Violence and the Defending Childhood Initiative explore and discuss a topic that is vital to the well-being of our children, families and communities.

This webinar is presented by EDC Native Streams Institute and the Defending Childhood Initiative, in partnership with the Office on Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention and Futures Without Violence.

Learning Objectives:

  1. Importance of incorporating culture and customary lawy (including explorations of when and how a tribe's cultural and/or traditional system defines child, family, extended family, duties and obligations; and how it focuses on all aspects of healing including the bulding and repair of relationships, mentoring, habilation and rehabilitation);
  2. Importance of developing tribal laws (including drafting scratch versus drafting from a template; and use of an inclusive comunity development process that is synchronized with the tribal laws on how to draft, present, review, and adopt tribal laws);
  3. Building collaborations, momentum, and addressing challenges (use of a team or teams of representative stakeholders to participate in all stages from drafting/review/input to public relations and events to voting/adoption).

 

     Speakers:

 

  • Anita Fineday, White Earth Tribal Nation, Managing Director, Indian Child Welfare Programs, Casey Family Programs
  • Pat Sekaquaptewa, Board Member, Tribal Law and Policy Institute

TO WATCH THE WEBINAR RECORDING  CLICK HERE!

System Requirements:
• Broadband Internet access – DSL, satellite, cable or other broadband server
• Color monitor
• Computer speakers/headphones or telephone to listen to audio. You may also listen to audio using your computer speakers or by using a phone to call the conference line.
• The latest Adobe® Flash® Player plugin for your browser. If you don't have the Flash plugin, you can get it here.
• Conduct a systems test: http://futureswithoutviolence.adobeconnect.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm

Privacy and Confidentiality:
Futures Without Violence respects the privacy of all webinar participants. All personal information will remain confidential. We do not rent, sell or trade our mailing lists. Name, email and other information provided by a participant will be used appropriately to provide information on related activities including upcoming webinars and other events.

Questions? Please contact Alisha Benjamin.