February 19, 2013

Title: Addressing Domestic Violence within Home Visitation Settings: Children Exposed to Domestic Violence & Its Impact on Parenting
Date & Time: Tuesday, February 19, 2013 at 12:30 PM Eastern (9:30 AM Pacific/ 10:30 AM Mountain/ 11:30 AM Central)

Description: Parenting is personal, subjective and can be difficult—especially if there is a history of violence or current violence. This webinar will introduce the issue of adults’ childhood experiences with violence. We will discuss the role of the home visitor in talking with parents about their childhood experiences, using the Loving Parents, Loving Kids safety card. We will explain how talking with parents about their experiences as children can be a platform for discussing safe homes, safe strategies for caring for children, and what it means to be in a healthy relationship.

Speakers:

  • Rebecca Levenson, Senior Policy Analyst, Futures Without Violence
  • Laurie K. Crawford, Sexual and Domestic Violence Healthcare Outreach Coordinator, Virginia Department of Health,
  • PJ West, Iowa Department of Public Health


Slides: Introduction, Presentation

Recording: Click Here

Tools and Resources: