Collaborating to Increase Access to Employment and Educational Opportunities for Survivors of Human Trafficking and Domestic and Sexual Violence

Title: Collaborating to Increase Access to Employment and Educational Opportunities for Survivors of Human Trafficking and Domestic and Sexual Violence

Date: Thursday, January 27, 2022

Time: 11:00am – 12:30pm PST/ 12:00-1:30pm MST/ 1:00-2:30pm CST/ 2:00-3:30pm EST

Register Here

Description: 

Survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, and human trafficking (DV, SA, HT) need access to education and job training programs that are grounded in trauma-informed practices. This webinar will focus on recognizing barriers to employment and education for survivors and strategies for building strong cross-sector collaborations between advocacy service providers and workforce development programs. This presentation is designed for service providers, anti-human trafficking collaborations and/or task force members.

Learning Objectives:

As a result of this webinar, participants will be better able to:

  1. Recognize the intersection of DV, SA, HT and the impact on the physical and mental health of survivors.
  2. Describe the obstacles to education, training, and to seek and hold employment opportunities that result from abuse and trauma.
  3. Consider local workforce development agencies, educational institutions, job readiness training and apprenticeship programs, to potentially engage in collaboration.
  4. Identify key components to build successful partnerships that support education and job opportunities for survivors.
  5. Utilize tools and resources for collaboration.

Speakers:

Carolyne Ouya, Sr. Training & Technical Assistance, Futures Without Violence

Mónica Arenas, Program Manager, Futures Without Violence

Missy Blackwell, Job Training Program Manager, Safelight

Target Audience: 

Domestic violence/sexual assault program staff, legal service providers, human trafficking taskforce members, and others interested.

Questions?
Please e-mail: learning@futureswithoutviolence.org 

This project is supported by Grant No. 2015-TA-AX-K029, awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women.