Core Values and Domestic & Sexual Assault Organizations

Title:  Core Values and Domestic & Sexual Assault Organizations

Date:  Thursday, December 12, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m. PT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 12:00 p.m. CT, 1:00 p.m. ET, 9:00 a.m. AKST, 8:00 a.m. HST (90 minutes)

*Closed captioning will be provided.

Register here: https://ta2ta.org/webinars/registration/core-values-and-how-they-operate-in-your-organizat.html 

Webinar Description:

Core values guide how an organization operates, makes decisions, and treats its employees, volunteers and clients. Core values, when utilized and incorporated throughout a workplace, can help organizations thrive and facilitate a positive, healthy and efficient organizational culture.  Presenters will discuss the importance of having core values and strategies to keep them alive, and align them to workplace practices, systems, and culture. Presenters will share tools and resources to assist OVW grantees.

After this webinar, participants will be better able to:

  • Define what are core values and their utility.
  • Apply and align core values to your organizational practices, systems, and culture.
  • Utilize tools and resources for reviewing and formalizing your organizational core values.

Who should participate?

Executive Directors, Program Directors/Managers/Coordinators, Supervisors, and Team Leaders in OVW funded projects.

Presenters:

Dr. Froswa’ Booker-Drew has an extensive background in nonprofit management, partnership development, training and education. She is currently serving as a Director of Community Affairs for the State Fair of Texas.  She was formerly a catalyst, partnership broker, and capacity builder of an international NGO and its partners’ around the U.S.  This entailed facilitating the emergence and strengthening of community-led initiatives to improve and sustain the well-being of children and their families.  She also assists a number of organizations as a consultant, board member, trainer or adviser.  Froswa’ earned her PhD in Leadership and Change from Antioch University with a focus on relational leadership and social capital.  She participated in the documentary, Friendly Captivity, a film that followed a cast of seven women from Dallas to India in 2008. She is the author of Rules of Engagement: Making Connections Last, a workbook designed to help women build identity and psychological capital that can result in stronger social capital and of Ready for a Revolution: 30 Days to Jolt Your Life, a devotional for women.

Kirsten Rambo, Ph.D. is the Executive Director of Stand Strong, formerly known as the Women’s Shelter Program of San Luis Obispo County. She moved to California three years ago from Atlanta, Georgia, where for six years, she led the national domestic violence prevention program at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).  Previously, she was for five years the Executive Director of the Georgia Commission on Family Violence.  She received her Ph.D. in Women’s Studies from Emory University. Her book, “Trivial Complaints:” The Role of Privacy in Domestic Violence Law and Activism in the U.S., was published in 2009.  She has served on the board of several organizations, including Men Stopping Violence.

Facilitators:

Jennifer White & Monica Arenas, Futures Without Violence

Questions? Please contact Monica Arenas at marenas@futureswithoutviolence.org.


This project is supported by Grant No. 2015-TA-AX-K047, awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women.