Introduction to Labor and Sex Trafficking: A Health Care & Human Rights Challenge

Introduction to Labor and Sex Trafficking: A Health Care & Human Rights Challenge

Date/Time: Monday July, 11th 2016; 12-1:30pm PT, 1-2:30pm MT, 2-3:30pm CT, 3-4:30pm ET

Description: Human trafficking has severe adverse effects on the health, well-being, and human rights of millions of vulnerable adults and young people in the United States and globally. Health professionals can play a significant role in early intervention of this problem and reducing the profound suffering it causes. This institute will increase understanding of the dimensions of labor and sex trafficking and discuss specific action steps that health professionals can take to address the problem. The webinar will provide a brief overview of the problem from a public health, clinical, and human rights perspective; explain how clinicians can identify and respond; and illustrate how forging community and systems partnerships build more effective local responses. Other more in-depth webinars will be offered later.

Click here to access a recording of the webinar.
Click here to view the slides.

Learning Objectives:

  • Define labor and sex trafficking of adults and youth and the role of health care and public health professionals in responding to this human rights abuse.
  • Identify indicators for trafficking among patients, including risk factors, signs, and symptoms.
  • Describe three specific approaches that health professionals can take to respond to potentially trafficked patients and to develop effective, collaborative prevention and community response strategies to labor and sex trafficking of adults and youth.


Susie Baldwin, MD, MPH
Associate Medical Director,  Sexually Transmitted Disease Controller,
Division of HIV and STD Programs,
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health
President, Board of Directors,
HEAL Trafficking

Tonya Chaffee, MD, MPH
Clinical Professor, Department of Pediatrics
University of California San Francisco
Director of the Teen and Young Adult Health Center,
Medical Director CASARC
Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital
Co-chair, Education/Training Committee, HEAL

Jordan Greenbaum, MD
Stephanie V. Blank Center for Safe and Healthy Children,
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
Co-chair, Education/Training Committee, HEAL


1.5 CMEs are available for MD/DO participants of this webinar. CME Learners will need to fill out the evaluation at the end of the webinar in order to receive credit.

This webinar is co-sponsored by HEAL Trafficking. This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of Futures Without Violence and HEAL. The Futures Without Violence is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.