SAFE EXIT

Health Cares About Domestic Violence Day (HCADV Day)

health cares about domestic violence day graphicMedical studies link the long-term effects of domestic violence and abuse with a myriad of health problems, such as smoking, diabetes, obesity, eating disorders, and substance abuse. While doctors and nurses routinely ask about high blood pressure and high cholesterol, too few assess for domestic violence and its impact on health. Universal education provides an opportunity for clients to make the connection between violence, health problems, and risk behaviors. Through a brochure-based universal education approach clients seeking services in health care facilities or domestic violence programs can receive information about the impact of abuse on their health.

Health Cares About Domestic Violence Day is a nationally-recognized day that takes place annually on the second Wednesday of October. Sponsored by FUTURES, the awareness-raising day aims to reach members of the healthcare and advocacy communities to offer education about the critical importance of universal education to promote healthy relationships, address the health impact of abuse and offer warm referrals to domestic violence advocates.

Planning ahead? The 23rd annual HCADV Day will be held: October 12th, 2022. This year, we will be centering reproductive health and justice. We offer a number of resources to help you organize events and activities on and beyond HCADV Day in our Action Kit featuring planning tips and social media tools. We encourage you to be creative! For this year’s focus, take a look at our reproductive & sexual health resources.

Join us for two events on HCADV Day!

Reproductive Justice is Survivor Justice: Bodily Autonomy, Health, and Safety Panel

Wednesday, October 12th at 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/1pm ET – 90 Minutes

See more info and register here!

Speakers:

  • Sevonna Brown, Black Women’s Blueprint
  • Laura Jiménez, California Latinas for Reproductive Justice

Laura Jiménez has proudly served as the Executive Director at California Latinas for Reproductive Justice since 2011.  For more than 25 years, Laura has worked with women of color organizations across the country on issues of reproductive justice, including the National Latina Health Organization, the Dominican Women’s Development Center and was part of the birth of SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective.  Since joining CLRJ, Laura has been engaged in Reproductive Justice policy advocacy, community engagement and community informed research efforts.  She also serves as a mentor to the Reproductive Justice team of the Beatríz María Solís Policy Institute in California.  Laura is passionate about issues of immigration, environmental justice, and birthing and parenting, as they intersect with reproductive justice.   Laura is a proud mamá to four awesome people and is the compañera of a gifted musician.

  • Aisha Chaudhri, Illinois Caucus for Adolescent Health

Aisha Chaudhri (eye-shuh cho-dhree, no pronouns, just name pronounced correctly) has been a social justice activist for over 24 years and has been working directly on Reproductive Justice (RJ) issues for over 16 years. Currently, Aisha is the Co-Director at ICAH (the Illinois Caucus for Adolescent Health), an RJ organization centering the leadership and bodily autonomy of Black and Brown youth in the Midwest, specifically trans and gender nonconforming youth. Previously, Aisha’s commitment to anti-oppression work stays rooted in the experiences of marginalized communities including Aisha’s own queer, gender nonconforming, femme, Punjabi, immigrant, and Muslim identities.

Intimate Partner Violence, Homelessness and Behavioral Health: A Toolkit for Health Center and Community Partners

Wednesday, October 12th at 12pm PT/1pm MT/2pm CT/3pm ET – 60 Minutes

See more info and register here!

Want to stay connected? Sign up for our Health mailing listto be the first to hear about HCADV Day and other Health-related updates, be sure to check the box before “Health” under: “I’d like to receive more information about the following topics”.

For questions about the National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence, organizing local events, or to talk through your ideas, contact health@futureswithoutviolence.org and include “HCADV Day” in the subject line. 

View our HCADV Day Action Kit

View our HCADV Day Past Activities Archive